Ash nazg durbatulûk, ash nazg gimbatul, ash nazg thrakatulûk, agh burzum-ishi krimpatul.

If you knew what that said, you’re much nerdier (or cooler!) then I am.  According to the book (or movie if that’s all you’ve seen), the statement above is roughly translated as “One Ring to rule them all, One ring to find them; One ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them.”  That’s the kind of wearable technology I want!  All kidding aside, a company called Logbar is out to create a ring that possesses quite a bit of power in its own right.  http://mashable.com/2014/03/03/bluetooth-ring/

ImageLogbar’s ring is designed to recognize finger gestures (not that finger gesture…).  Bilbo Baggins, I mean the ring wearer, can draw in the air to send text messages or open apps and access e-mail.  Very cool stuff.  For $145, via a kick starter campaign, you can have the one ring (or at least one of the first) to rule them all!  That being said, would I buy this ring?  Not likely.  When it comes down to it, I’m just not willing to plunk down a wad of cash on things that are just cool little gadgets but not necessarily life changing.  Too many of the wearable technology I see falls into this category.  Fitness monitors?  Why do I need to know how much activity I did today?  If I’m not sure about it, I should have gone out and exercised!

The wearable technology that I would really like to see is an unobtrusive blood pressure monitor.  Many of the wearable technology currently available are tools of convenience.  What I want are things that have a more significant health benefit.  As someone who has borderline high blood pressure, I would love to have a piece of wireless technology that could monitor that.  Like most wearable technology, it would need to be wireless, unobtrusive and capable of monitoring 24/7.  That way, I could track the activities that cause my blood pressure to rise as well as take steps to lower it when it does.

Image

Unfortunately, the problem right now seems to be not with the wireless technology but rather the medical technology.  This would seem to be the case for other health issues that could benefit from being used for wearable technology.  In addition to monitoring blood pressure, I’m sure people would love to be able to constantly monitor glucose levels, or even fatigue levels.  It’s the difference between aiming for a target (i.e., desired activity level or heart rate) and getting actual data warning of danger.  So while I’m not in a rush to go buy out to buy a fit bit, I’m keeping an eye out to see whats next.

Leave a Reply

